One thought on “For your enjoyment: A History on the French Revolution

  1. I think the endings of Dangerous Liaisons novel, play and movie are all effective on its way. The ending of the novel is more explicit than in the movie or the play. There is still something unsaid in the endings of the play and movie, whereas in the novel, it is all told – what happens with Merteuil, with Cecile and others: Merteuil flees out of town, Cecile decides to become a nun, Valmont dies. I think the ending is effective for readers give a full picture of what happens at the end. I think the authors of a movie and a play wanted to give the readers more to think about, sort of have them figure out on their on what happens next. I would say the novel has the most effective ending for readers that like everything clear. I think the movie’s ending has an effective ending as well. I think it is easier to show what is going to happen in the visually than by telling when a story. Therefore, I think it was effective to end the movie with Merteuil removing her make up as it brings the same message as in the novel – her loss in the war. I believe it would not be necessary in the movie to show all the rest as it is already understood what happens to everyone. I also believe the play’s ending is effective but least effective. I think the fact that Merteuil loses sight of one of her eyes is an effective way to show the reader that she is destroyed and punished and everyone else is too. To summarize, I think the endings of the movie, play and nover are all effective on each way.

Leave a comment